North West Passage Politics

The Nort West passage route through the Ccanadian Artic Archipelago
The North West Passage Route

I alluded last post to the debate on who has ownership of the North west passage; a debate as intense as any of the mysteries of its discovery.  All routes have to go  through the Islands of the Canadian Arctic Archipelago  and because of this Canada claims the route as Canadian internal waters but the US claims they are International Waters and as such transverse them without notification. Who owns the Arctic ocean is hotly debated and I have found this wonderful article that you can peruse at your leisure that debates this particular issue along with this ICE case study from 2006 that I found fascinating.

I am Canadian so I know what I think – anyone out there reading this let me know your thoughts and concerns. One thing is certain in the past few years with the climate change, arctic ice is melting and that is allowing more access to the NW passage and I foresee this debate becoming a problem – I truly hope not but the politics are sensitive and involve a number of countries including Russia. Although this article states that the NW passage may not be the bonus everyone thinks it might be.  Looking at all this current conflict about the NW passage is intriguing and interesting and the question of what will happen is always there. Maybe next post it will be worth while looking at what the benefits would be if the NW passage is opened up. I must admit I for one cannot really see any but worry about the environmental damage that might ensue.

 

Leave a Reply

